Category: Writers Write


Review: BLACK GIRLS MUST DIE EXHAUSTED by Jayne Allen

Posted 10 October, 2018 by DLWhite in Reviews, Writers Read, Writers Write 0 Comments

Black Girls Must Die Exhausted: A Novel by Jayne Allen
Genres: African American, Contemporary Women, Fiction
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

“Black girls must die exhausted” is something that 33-year-old Tabitha Walker has heard her grandmother say before. Of course, her grandmother (who happens to be white) was referring to the 1950’s and what she observed in the nascent times of civil rights. With a coveted position as a local news reporter, a “paper-perfect” boyfriend, and a standing Saturday morning appointment with a reliable hairstylist, Tabitha never imagined how this phrase could apply to her as a black girl in contemporary times – that is, until everything changed.

An unexpected doctor’s diagnosis awakens Tabitha to an unperceived culprit, threatening the one thing that has always mattered most - having a family of her own. Stress has caused a premature burnout of Tabitha’s egg reserve, and time is running out on her options to become a wife and mother. With the help of her best friends, the irreverent and headstrong Laila and Alexis, the former “Sexy Lexi," Tabitha must explore the reaches of modern medicine and test the limits of her relationships. Will she risk every comfort to address the complications of her dysfunctionally-blended family and the uncertainty of a future with Marc?

Tabitha's journey brings into view the internal experience of race, relationships, and generational patterns, and how each contributed to this crossroads. She must leverage the power of laughter, love, and courageous self-care to bring a healing stronger than she ever imagined - before the phrase “black girls must die exhausted” takes on a new and unwanted meaning in her own life.

A well-written character-centered dramatic novel perfect for fans of Terri McMillan, Trisha R. Thomas, Omar Tyree, E. Lynn Harris, Kimberla Lawson Roby.

First off, thaaaanks the publisher and Netgalley for furnishing a copy of this book so that I could inhale it and offer an honest review.


Black Girls Must Die Exhausted: A Novel
by Jayne Allen

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

My Review

Overall, a well written, engaging read. You know it’s good when I talk out loud TO THE BOOK.

You’ve heard the saying… “we have to work twice as hard to get just as far as our non black counterparts.” This novel is that saying, in print. Tabitha’s life, from her job to her boyfriend to her family seems to be coming apart at the seams and the only thing holding it together is her grandmother, for whom she is named. They simply call her Too, because she is Tabitha, too.

I found Grandma Tab to be delightful and… surprisingly woke.  Perhaps because her husband was black and her son is half black, but she was progressive for an older white woman. I kept bracing for her to say something off, but of course that never happened. She was both warm and understanding while challenging Tab on details of her professional and love life.  A common theme, and something I’m definitely going to take away from this book is ‘if a man has no plan for you, that isn’t your man’. Ain’t that the truth, and a hard truth to learn and accept. For Tab, too… but I said I wasn’t gonna rant. All Ima say is…. there is a reason exes are exes. They should stay exes, no matter how good the sex is. End rant.

This was a sometimes emotional, sometimes funny look into the life of a young urban professional, just trying to life her best life, despite life itself getting in the way of that.

An enjoyable read!

 

View all my reviews




Leslie’s Curl & Dye is now on AUDIO!

Leslie’s Curl & Dye is now on AUDIO!

*confetti and other such celebratory scraps of paper*  My 4th audiobook is finally LIVE on Amazon/Audible/Apple bookstore! Grab the link on my BOOKS page and enjoy! I did something a little different with this book than I did with the previous releases. While Brunch at Ruby’s, Dinner at Sam’s and Beach Thing are exclusive to Amazon/Audible/Apple Books, in the coming weeks, this title will be available at most audiobook outlets! This means you’ll be able to listen to this title on ANY platform you like. It’ll also available for libraries to purchase, so get into your local libraries and REQUEST A COPY! Of course you can always purchase this book […]



WOOP! ‘Beach Thing’ is now available on Audible!

WOOP! ‘Beach Thing’ is now available on Audible!

Published by ACX, Amazon Digital Services Genres: African American Romance Format: AudioBook Source: Amazon, Audible, Barnes & Noble, ibooks, Kindle, Kobo Happy Friday, Readers & Friends! I got the best Friday news EVER this morning! My ode to summer, my #beachyblackromance, my cutesy story about two souls that fall in love on an island, BEACH THING is now available in audio! I hope you’ll snatch up this title and take it with you on your next vacation!  It’s only $10 ( or 1 credit) to purchase 4 hours of bliss-filled love story! Grab BEACH THING or my other Audible titles, BRUNCH AT RUBY’S and DINNER AT SAM’S HERE and put […]



I’m a Lady and I write books. My epi of @LadyBookspod Podcast is up!

I’m a Lady and I write books. My epi of @LadyBookspod Podcast is up!

I recorded this episode with Tasha and Katie (BadStarMedia) a few weeks ago and have been waiting on pins & needles for it to be up! It was a fun conversation about all things writing, soup to nuts… how I got started, what keeps me going, being a control freak and doing everything myself, plus the experience of recording audiobooks. It’s a ton of fun and these are two of my very favorite people, so I hope you’ll give us a listen!



Featured: Brunch at Ruby’s Audiobook

Featured: Brunch at Ruby’s Audiobook

Because I have been a lazy such and so and have been knock down drag out busy with dayjob, I don’t believe that I have announced on this site that my debut novel, Brunch at Ruby’s is now available in audio! YEPPER, now you can spend time with Debra, Maxine and Renee on the GO! The book is available via Audible, iTunes and amazon.com, so if you just LOVE audiobooks, or it’s been FOREVER since you read Ruby’s or you just wanna support a sistah with one of your creddiks, give it a listen! 




‘Wrong Answer’ – The story that started it all is headed to the big screen

‘Wrong Answer’ – The story that started it all is headed to the big screen

The ripple from this scandal reached far and wide, including my writer’s brain. I started to think about this from the perspective of an involved teacher… no, someone with a bit more power.
Like a Principal. What if she made a preventable, regrettable mistake?
What if she paid for that mistake with her marriage, her family, her friends, even her life?



Fangirl Flailing at the cover of The Way Things Are by Tasha L. Harrison

Fangirl Flailing at the cover of The Way Things Are by Tasha L. Harrison

Good cops do exist.
Camden City Police Officer Levi Alistar Raymond has a Superman complex. He is determined to serve and protect—even if that means, risking his career to support his girlfriend, Ava Marie in making sure the cop who murdered her friend is brought to justice. Good cops do exist but if good cops stand by and allow the bad cops to harass, abuse, and kill the very people they are meant to serve and protect, they are not good cops. They’re accomplices.

“I’m the wind in your cape…”
Falling in love with a cop was the last thing Ava wanted or needed in her life, but somehow, loving Levi came to her as naturally as breathing. Keeping their relationship intact while everything in the world seems to want to pull them apart feels impossible, but she is determined to be the wind in his cape, no matter what adversity they face.



An Easy Peazy Books & Fun Stuff Holiday Giveaway!

An Easy Peazy Books & Fun Stuff Holiday Giveaway!

WHAT IT IS:  A super simple giveaway that will run on my blog from December 15- December 25th. I’ll pick a winner before the 27th and mail prizes out before New Year’s Day.

WHAT YOU’LL GET: This giveaway will be CHOCK FULL (chock full, ya heard???) of gorgeous black lit books from me and some of my friends, black woman centered products (Oyin Handmade hair goodies, anyone???)  and some bookish fun stuff (mugs, bookmarks, art etc). Really, every time I see something I think, oooh that’d be great for my giveaway!