Category: Writers Read


Review: BLACK GIRLS MUST DIE EXHAUSTED by Jayne Allen

Posted 10 October, 2018 by DLWhite in Reviews, Writers Read, Writers Write 0 Comments

Black Girls Must Die Exhausted: A Novel by Jayne Allen
Genres: African American, Contemporary Women, Fiction
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

“Black girls must die exhausted” is something that 33-year-old Tabitha Walker has heard her grandmother say before. Of course, her grandmother (who happens to be white) was referring to the 1950’s and what she observed in the nascent times of civil rights. With a coveted position as a local news reporter, a “paper-perfect” boyfriend, and a standing Saturday morning appointment with a reliable hairstylist, Tabitha never imagined how this phrase could apply to her as a black girl in contemporary times – that is, until everything changed.

An unexpected doctor’s diagnosis awakens Tabitha to an unperceived culprit, threatening the one thing that has always mattered most - having a family of her own. Stress has caused a premature burnout of Tabitha’s egg reserve, and time is running out on her options to become a wife and mother. With the help of her best friends, the irreverent and headstrong Laila and Alexis, the former “Sexy Lexi," Tabitha must explore the reaches of modern medicine and test the limits of her relationships. Will she risk every comfort to address the complications of her dysfunctionally-blended family and the uncertainty of a future with Marc?

Tabitha's journey brings into view the internal experience of race, relationships, and generational patterns, and how each contributed to this crossroads. She must leverage the power of laughter, love, and courageous self-care to bring a healing stronger than she ever imagined - before the phrase “black girls must die exhausted” takes on a new and unwanted meaning in her own life.

A well-written character-centered dramatic novel perfect for fans of Terri McMillan, Trisha R. Thomas, Omar Tyree, E. Lynn Harris, Kimberla Lawson Roby.

First off, thaaaanks the publisher and Netgalley for furnishing a copy of this book so that I could inhale it and offer an honest review.


Black Girls Must Die Exhausted: A Novel
by Jayne Allen

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

My Review

Overall, a well written, engaging read. You know it’s good when I talk out loud TO THE BOOK.

You’ve heard the saying… “we have to work twice as hard to get just as far as our non black counterparts.” This novel is that saying, in print. Tabitha’s life, from her job to her boyfriend to her family seems to be coming apart at the seams and the only thing holding it together is her grandmother, for whom she is named. They simply call her Too, because she is Tabitha, too.

I found Grandma Tab to be delightful and… surprisingly woke.  Perhaps because her husband was black and her son is half black, but she was progressive for an older white woman. I kept bracing for her to say something off, but of course that never happened. She was both warm and understanding while challenging Tab on details of her professional and love life.  A common theme, and something I’m definitely going to take away from this book is ‘if a man has no plan for you, that isn’t your man’. Ain’t that the truth, and a hard truth to learn and accept. For Tab, too… but I said I wasn’t gonna rant. All Ima say is…. there is a reason exes are exes. They should stay exes, no matter how good the sex is. End rant.

This was a sometimes emotional, sometimes funny look into the life of a young urban professional, just trying to life her best life, despite life itself getting in the way of that.

An enjoyable read!

 

View all my reviews



Review: Cherish Me (The Holmes Brothers Book 7) by Farrah Rochon – 5 star read!

Review: Cherish Me (The Holmes Brothers Book 7) by Farrah Rochon – 5 star read!

Sometimes I feel extremely fortunate to know some super talented, entertaining writers. Farrah Rochon is among them, and one of the best I have ever read. I thought the Bayou Dreams series was good… and then came Maplesville. And then she restarted the Holmes Brothers (which was her first book) series. Cherish Me is Book 7 in this series and every gotdang one of them is so good.



*ARC Review * An American Marriage by Tayari Jones

*ARC Review * An American Marriage by Tayari Jones

I think one of my favorite parts of the book is the letters. They let the story play out, in the words of Roy and Celeste, even though they couldn’t be in the same room. Ms. Jones recently shared a piece about how technology can affect and script communication between characters; sometimes a novel has to be set in a time and a place that makes communication difficult. At one point in the book, there’s no way for one character to contact the other, leading one to walk right into a trap, per se… the tension that that situation built was palpable and effective.





*~* Blog Tour*~* By the Hour by Roni Loren [Promo & Review]

*~* Blog Tour*~* By the Hour by Roni Loren [Promo & Review]

I’ve been ready for By the Hour since I read the last word of Off the Clock, so it is no surprise at all, that I clenched my fist and squealed finally!!!! when By the Hour was announced. Ya’ll know me, I’m a Roni Loren stan and she rarely if ever disappoints me. I loved the “real life” characteristics of the hero/heroine and the RAUNCH-EEEE sexy times that happen in this book.
All around, super enjoyable. Another hit for Roni Loren!




[Review] Lust & Loyalty by Shelly Ellis

[Review] Lust & Loyalty by Shelly Ellis

This book follows Shelly Ellis’ tradition (from the Gibbons Sisters on down) of turning out books full of family drama, sizzling sex scenes and page turning, rapid fire action. I love books that make me want to pop a bag of popcorn to eat while I read. It’s like a Soap Opera, but it’s a book. This entire series is FIRE, and I already need the next book.



*~* Blog Tour *~* Noble Redemption by Te Russ

*~* Blog Tour *~* Noble Redemption by Te Russ

Hello Blog! It’s been awhile! I’d love to say I’ve been busy, but I haven’t. Just livin’ life you know? But what better reason to grace your feed reader than to celebrate the release of a black romance by one of my #authorbaes, Te Russ! I have read Noble Redemption (sucked it down in one gulp, actually!) and this novel is some of Te’s best work. I’ve read her backward and forward and it’s been such a pleasure to watch her take a step out on a limb and totally kill it in the black romance game! Enough yammering. Let’s get down to bidness! About the Author: Té Russ found […]



#Readathon Mid -Event Survey

#Readathon Mid -Event Survey

Mid-Event Survey: 1. What are you reading right now? Just finished STORMY WEATHER by Paula Woods, Book two in the Charlotte Jones Detective series 2. How many books have you read so far?  This is book two 3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? Hoping Book 3 is even better than 1 & 2 4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?  Nope, I live alone, so other than needing food and drink, I’ve been fine.                                               […]