Monthly Archives: October 2018


Review: BLACK GIRLS MUST DIE EXHAUSTED by Jayne Allen

Posted 10 October, 2018 by DLWhite in Reviews, Writers Read, Writers Write 0 Comments

Black Girls Must Die Exhausted: A Novel by Jayne Allen
Genres: African American, Contemporary Women, Fiction
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

“Black girls must die exhausted” is something that 33-year-old Tabitha Walker has heard her grandmother say before. Of course, her grandmother (who happens to be white) was referring to the 1950’s and what she observed in the nascent times of civil rights. With a coveted position as a local news reporter, a “paper-perfect” boyfriend, and a standing Saturday morning appointment with a reliable hairstylist, Tabitha never imagined how this phrase could apply to her as a black girl in contemporary times – that is, until everything changed.

An unexpected doctor’s diagnosis awakens Tabitha to an unperceived culprit, threatening the one thing that has always mattered most - having a family of her own. Stress has caused a premature burnout of Tabitha’s egg reserve, and time is running out on her options to become a wife and mother. With the help of her best friends, the irreverent and headstrong Laila and Alexis, the former “Sexy Lexi," Tabitha must explore the reaches of modern medicine and test the limits of her relationships. Will she risk every comfort to address the complications of her dysfunctionally-blended family and the uncertainty of a future with Marc?

Tabitha's journey brings into view the internal experience of race, relationships, and generational patterns, and how each contributed to this crossroads. She must leverage the power of laughter, love, and courageous self-care to bring a healing stronger than she ever imagined - before the phrase “black girls must die exhausted” takes on a new and unwanted meaning in her own life.

A well-written character-centered dramatic novel perfect for fans of Terri McMillan, Trisha R. Thomas, Omar Tyree, E. Lynn Harris, Kimberla Lawson Roby.

First off, thaaaanks the publisher and Netgalley for furnishing a copy of this book so that I could inhale it and offer an honest review.


Black Girls Must Die Exhausted: A Novel
by Jayne Allen

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

My Review

Overall, a well written, engaging read. You know it’s good when I talk out loud TO THE BOOK.

You’ve heard the saying… “we have to work twice as hard to get just as far as our non black counterparts.” This novel is that saying, in print. Tabitha’s life, from her job to her boyfriend to her family seems to be coming apart at the seams and the only thing holding it together is her grandmother, for whom she is named. They simply call her Too, because she is Tabitha, too.

I found Grandma Tab to be delightful and… surprisingly woke.  Perhaps because her husband was black and her son is half black, but she was progressive for an older white woman. I kept bracing for her to say something off, but of course that never happened. She was both warm and understanding while challenging Tab on details of her professional and love life.  A common theme, and something I’m definitely going to take away from this book is ‘if a man has no plan for you, that isn’t your man’. Ain’t that the truth, and a hard truth to learn and accept. For Tab, too… but I said I wasn’t gonna rant. All Ima say is…. there is a reason exes are exes. They should stay exes, no matter how good the sex is. End rant.

This was a sometimes emotional, sometimes funny look into the life of a young urban professional, just trying to life her best life, despite life itself getting in the way of that.

An enjoyable read!

 

View all my reviews




Leslie’s Curl & Dye is now on AUDIO!

Leslie’s Curl & Dye is now on AUDIO!

*confetti and other such celebratory scraps of paper*  My 4th audiobook is finally LIVE on Amazon/Audible/Apple bookstore! Grab the link on my BOOKS page and enjoy! I did something a little different with this book than I did with the previous releases. While Brunch at Ruby’s, Dinner at Sam’s and Beach Thing are exclusive to Amazon/Audible/Apple Books, in the coming weeks, this title will be available at most audiobook outlets! This means you’ll be able to listen to this title on ANY platform you like. It’ll also available for libraries to purchase, so get into your local libraries and REQUEST A COPY! Of course you can always purchase this book […]