[Review] – The Competition by Marcia Clark

Posted 8 July, 2014 by DLWhite in Reviews, Writers Read 0 Comments

The Competition Book Cover The Competition
Rachel Knight #4
Marcia Clark
Thriller, Mystery, Legal
Mulholland Books
July 8, 2014
eBook
418
NetGalley/Mulholland Books

In Marcia Clark's most electrifying thriller yet, Los Angeles DA Rachel Knight investigates a diabolical high school massacre.

A Columbine-style massacre at a high school in the San Fernando Valley has left a community shaken to its core. Two students are identified as the killers. Both are dead, believed to have committed a mutual suicide. But in the aftermath of the shooting, as LA Special Trials prosecutor Rachel Knight and Detective Bailey Keller dig deeper, they realize that the pieces don't add up. Could it be that the two "killers" were themselves victims? And if so, does that mean that the real killers are still on the loose? When someone starts dropping clues that another horrific crime is in the works, Rachel and Bailey scramble desperately to profile their suspect and prevent another killing--before it's too late.

Marcia Clark’s latest action packed legal thriller ‘The Competition’ is an excellent read. Having just read her first novel a few days ago, I am impressed with the improvement in her writing style and ability to draw out a compelling story. So much less ‘here’s proof that I know what I am doing’ and more captivating bread crumb dropping to bring the reader to the conclusion she intends.

I love legal thrillers, especially well written novels that keep me guessing and use recurring characters. I like getting to know a team of investigators. In the vein of Lescroart and Slaughter, Clark reprises her main character, DA Rachel Knight along with Detective Bailey Keller as her constant investigative companion (though I am still bothered by the fact that the DA is such an integral part of the investigation in Clark novels). Also recurring is Hales, Knight’s boyfriend and captain of the Robbery Homicide unit and Bailey’s boyfriend and Biltmore Bartender, Drew. Lastly, we have a few cameo appearances Toni, fellow DA, so the gang’s all here.

I was quite intrigued by the story line in this novel. It was a nice, meaty unexpected twist on the mass/school shooting plot point… where what you think happened, didn’t really happen, but what DID happen? No one knows. We follow Rachel and Bailey on a three week pursuit of multiple suspects, unraveling the mystery layer by layer.

I must admit I came to the conclusion of WHODUNIT far before the characters in the novel, which created some nail biting tension while I waited for Rachel and Bailey to figure it out. And again at the climax of the story, when I knew it wasn’t over…. and it wasn’t.

If Clark keeps improving and writing great legal thrillers, I most certainly will keep reading them. This novel was nice break from my recent reads. I received a copy of this novel for an honest review from NetGalley.com.


Comments are closed.