Review: BLACK GIRLS MUST DIE EXHAUSTED by Jayne Allen

Posted 10 October, 2018 by DLWhite in Reviews, Writers Read, Writers Write 0 Comments

Black Girls Must Die Exhausted: A Novel by Jayne Allen
Genres: African American, Contemporary Women, Fiction
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

“Black girls must die exhausted” is something that 33-year-old Tabitha Walker has heard her grandmother say before. Of course, her grandmother (who happens to be white) was referring to the 1950’s and what she observed in the nascent times of civil rights. With a coveted position as a local news reporter, a “paper-perfect” boyfriend, and a standing Saturday morning appointment with a reliable hairstylist, Tabitha never imagined how this phrase could apply to her as a black girl in contemporary times – that is, until everything changed.

An unexpected doctor’s diagnosis awakens Tabitha to an unperceived culprit, threatening the one thing that has always mattered most - having a family of her own. Stress has caused a premature burnout of Tabitha’s egg reserve, and time is running out on her options to become a wife and mother. With the help of her best friends, the irreverent and headstrong Laila and Alexis, the former “Sexy Lexi," Tabitha must explore the reaches of modern medicine and test the limits of her relationships. Will she risk every comfort to address the complications of her dysfunctionally-blended family and the uncertainty of a future with Marc?

Tabitha's journey brings into view the internal experience of race, relationships, and generational patterns, and how each contributed to this crossroads. She must leverage the power of laughter, love, and courageous self-care to bring a healing stronger than she ever imagined - before the phrase “black girls must die exhausted” takes on a new and unwanted meaning in her own life.

A well-written character-centered dramatic novel perfect for fans of Terri McMillan, Trisha R. Thomas, Omar Tyree, E. Lynn Harris, Kimberla Lawson Roby.

First off, thaaaanks the publisher and Netgalley for furnishing a copy of this book so that I could inhale it and offer an honest review.


Black Girls Must Die Exhausted: A Novel
by Jayne Allen

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

My Review

Overall, a well written, engaging read. You know it’s good when I talk out loud TO THE BOOK.

You’ve heard the saying… “we have to work twice as hard to get just as far as our non black counterparts.” This novel is that saying, in print. Tabitha’s life, from her job to her boyfriend to her family seems to be coming apart at the seams and the only thing holding it together is her grandmother, for whom she is named. They simply call her Too, because she is Tabitha, too.

I found Grandma Tab to be delightful and… surprisingly woke.  Perhaps because her husband was black and her son is half black, but she was progressive for an older white woman. I kept bracing for her to say something off, but of course that never happened. She was both warm and understanding while challenging Tab on details of her professional and love life.  A common theme, and something I’m definitely going to take away from this book is ‘if a man has no plan for you, that isn’t your man’. Ain’t that the truth, and a hard truth to learn and accept. For Tab, too… but I said I wasn’t gonna rant. All Ima say is…. there is a reason exes are exes. They should stay exes, no matter how good the sex is. End rant.

This was a sometimes emotional, sometimes funny look into the life of a young urban professional, just trying to life her best life, despite life itself getting in the way of that.

An enjoyable read!

 

View all my reviews




Leslie’s Curl & Dye is now on AUDIO!

Leslie’s Curl & Dye is now on AUDIO!

*confetti and other such celebratory scraps of paper*  My 4th audiobook is finally LIVE on Amazon/Audible/Apple bookstore! Grab the link on my BOOKS page and enjoy! I did something a little different with this book than I did with the previous releases. While Brunch at Ruby’s, Dinner at Sam’s and Beach Thing are exclusive to Amazon/Audible/Apple Books, in the coming weeks, this title will be available at most audiobook outlets! This means you’ll be able to listen to this title on ANY platform you like. It’ll also available for libraries to purchase, so get into your local libraries and REQUEST A COPY! Of course you can always purchase this book […]



*BOOK BLITZ* Sweatpants Season- Danielle Allen

*BOOK BLITZ*  Sweatpants Season- Danielle Allen

by Danielle Allen Genres: African American Romance, Contemporary Women ABOUT THE BOOK He has a big…smile.   It was the first thing I noticed that day until he stood. His grey sweatpants hung off his hips and I didn’t want to look. I really didn’t. I’m a feminist. I don’t believe in objectifying men. I don’t catcall men. I don’t ogle the bodies of men. I don’t view men as objects of my affection rather than complex people with feelings, wants, and needs of their own. I don’t treat men the way society often treats women. I treat men the way I want to be treated as a woman—with respect! So, […]



*Pre-Release Blitz* Four (the Commitment series finale) by Nia Forrester

*Pre-Release Blitz*  Four (the Commitment series finale) by Nia Forrester

by NIa Forrester Genres: African American Romance, Contemporary Women *Book Blitz* From author Nia Forrester – Four  (the Commitment series finale) Meet the Author Nia Forrester lives and writes in Philadelphia, PA where, by day, she is an attorney working on public policy and by night, she crafts woman-centered fiction that examines the complexities of life, love and the human condition. She welcomes feedback and email from her readers at authorniaforrester@gmail.com or tweets @NiaForrester. AUTHOR SITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | GOODREADS | AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE   Meet the Book Four couples, four transitions, four seasons of marriage … Grace Most couples wouldn’t have weathered one mistake of the kind Shawn made when he and […]



*Book Blitz* Wild Thoughts (Brooks Family #3) by Delaney Diamond

*Book Blitz* Wild Thoughts (Brooks Family #3) by Delaney Diamond

by Delaney Diamond Genres: African American Romance, Contemporary, Women’s Fiction Format: eBook, Paperback *Book Blitz* From author Delaney Diamond – Wild Thoughts (Brooks Family #3) Meet the Author Delaney Diamond is the USA Today Bestselling Author of sweet, sensual, passionate romance novels, born and raised in the U.S. Virgin Islands. She reads romance novels, mysteries, thrillers, and a fair amount of nonfiction. When she’s not busy reading or writing, she’s in the kitchen trying out new recipes, dining at one of her favorite restaurants, or traveling to an interesting locale. To get sneak peeks, notices of sale prices, and find out about new releases, visit her website and join her […]



*Book Blitz* From author Tia Kelly- The Breakup Plan, a best friends to enemies romance

*Book Blitz*  From author Tia Kelly- The Breakup Plan, a best friends to enemies romance

by Tia Kelly Published by Amazon Digital Services Genres: African American Romance, Contemporary, Sports Romance, Women’s Fiction Format: eBook *Book Blitz* From author Tia Kelly- The Breakup Plan A best friends to enemies romance, available Wednesday, September 12th (after 10PM EDT!) Meet the Author Tia Kelly is the author of contemporary and women’s fiction. She is known for her candid way of capturing life, love and relationships… one story at a time.   Find Tia here: Author Website: www.tiawithapen.com Newsletter: http://bit.ly/TKNewsletter Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorTiaKelly Twitter: https://twitter.com/tiawithapen Instagram: https://instagram.com/tiawithapen Goodreads Author Profile: http://goodreads.com/tiakelly Add Book on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/41508689-the-breakup-plan Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Tia-Kelly/e/B00B7AKXGI/ Meet the Book A man without a plan is a shell without purpose. Which is why I sat […]



WOOP! ‘Beach Thing’ is now available on Audible!

WOOP! ‘Beach Thing’ is now available on Audible!

Published by ACX, Amazon Digital Services Genres: African American Romance Format: AudioBook Source: Amazon, Audible, Barnes & Noble, ibooks, Kindle, Kobo Happy Friday, Readers & Friends! I got the best Friday news EVER this morning! My ode to summer, my #beachyblackromance, my cutesy story about two souls that fall in love on an island, BEACH THING is now available in audio! I hope you’ll snatch up this title and take it with you on your next vacation!  It’s only $10 ( or 1 credit) to purchase 4 hours of bliss-filled love story! Grab BEACH THING or my other Audible titles, BRUNCH AT RUBY’S and DINNER AT SAM’S HERE and put […]



#WIPWednesday: If You’re Gonna Give Him The Cat – Leslie’s Curl & Dye

#WIPWednesday: If You’re Gonna Give Him The Cat – Leslie’s Curl & Dye

Today is #WIPWednesday but, gloriously, I do not have a WIP. Yesterday I decided that aside from a fun story for the fanfiction archive, I am done writing for publication for the year. I am tired, my brain is tired, I would have loved to publish four books this year, but my miiiiiiiiinds tellin’ me nooooooo.

Aannyway, I wanted to share a snippet from Curl & Dye with ya’ll. If you haven’t read it and need some convincing, look no further than Reading Romance In Color’s review of Curl & Dye. She enjoyed the small town but still black centered dynamic and the grown & sexy aspect of KC and Leslie’s relationship. Speakin’ of grown & sexy…



Review: Cherish Me (The Holmes Brothers Book 7) by Farrah Rochon – 5 star read!

Review: Cherish Me (The Holmes Brothers Book 7) by Farrah Rochon – 5 star read!

Sometimes I feel extremely fortunate to know some super talented, entertaining writers. Farrah Rochon is among them, and one of the best I have ever read. I thought the Bayou Dreams series was good… and then came Maplesville. And then she restarted the Holmes Brothers (which was her first book) series. Cherish Me is Book 7 in this series and every gotdang one of them is so good.